Learn about the Town’s elections

Town elections are held in November of even numbered years and are coordinated and administered by El Paso County. Coordinated elections include those for Board of Trustee representatives, possible ballot questions or issues, and referred ordinances or resolutions. 

The Board of Trustees may also call a special election, if deemed necessary, by resolution or ordinance for any Tuesday outside of certain parameters of proximity to a regularly, general, or primary election.

The Town Clerk is the designated election official for the Town of Monument.  

Election dates

Elections for the Board of Trustees are for four-year terms and occur every two years.

  • Trustee seats currently held by Kelly Elliott, Laurie Clark, Ron Stephens, and Darcy Schoening will be elected in November 2022.
  • The Trustee candidate receiving the 4th highest number of votes at the November 2022 election will serve a shortened two-year term. 
  • The mayor seat currently held by Don Wilson will be elected in November 2022.
  • Trustee seats currently held by Mitch LaKind, Jim Romanello, and the candidate elected to the shortened term in 2022 will be elected in November 2024.

Voter Registration and Election Information

Information on voter registration and updating your registration is available at www.GoVoteColorado.gov. Colorado allows you to register to vote through Election Day. The timeframe when you register, though, may affect the method by which you can vote.

  • If you register to vote online at least 8 days before an election, you will be MAILED a ballot.
  • After the 8th day before an election, you must visit a Voter Service & Polling Center or the El Paso County Elections office to register and receive a ballot in person.
  • If you register to vote through a voter registration drive, your application must be submitted no later than 22 days before an election.
  • El Paso County will maintain 37 secure 24-hour ballot drop box locations. The closest locations for Monument voters are Monument Town Hall (645 Beacon Lite Road) and the Monument Park and Ride (Woodmoor Drive and I-25). 

Voters with questions or concerns should call (719) 575-VOTE, email elections@elpasoco.com, or visit www.EPCVotes.com.